07 January 2009

Gulf states agree on monetary union [news story]

Excerpt: Gulf Arab states will maintain their 2010 deadline for a single currency, the secretary-general of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) has said. Leaders of GCC countries (Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Qatar, Oman and Bahrain) approved a final draft of an accord on a monetary union agreement in their annual summit in Muscat, the capital of Oman, on Tuesday. The agreement would pave the way for a single currency, which all GCC states but Oman are working towards launching.
Article: "Gulf states agree on monetary union"
Source: Al Jazeera English
Link to Full Story: http://english.aljazeera.net/business/2008/12/20081230153346616980.html

No comments:

Post a Comment